The English Learners' Blog

A blog for English learners and their teachers everywhere, initiated in 2010 with the contribution of students from the Jagiellonian University in Krakow, Poland. More about me on the On-line Profile below. Welcome!

End-of-Year Thoughts, Anyone?

This academic year is only a few days closer to its end, so I would like to propose a symbolic toast:

It may have looked like this choir, posing on Grodzka street in Krakow

… or not. Mystery revealed!

Apparatus Blues

was sung by American students. The answer to the question:

Can you guess when it was sung and by which graduates? is revealed by

the Pembroke Record,

a student magazine published by the Women’s College in Brown University,

the September issue of 1923,

that is 87 years ago…

I’m not ecstatic, nor yet enthusiastic

About being acrobatic or doing a gymnastic.

I’d like to be elastic, lithe and supple-plastic

And do those queer gyrastics but I get darn rheumatic.

When I was only eight one didn’t criticise

A person ruminating on sausages and pies

But now alternation is food for contemplation;

So with much agitation I’m reducing in this wise.

Chorus –

I’ve got the ap-ap-ap-ap-ap-apparatus blues, so black and blue.

Oh it’s that hap-hap-hap-hap-hap-hap-haphazard way we jump the boom

I hang my feet on flying rings, shimmy up the great long ropes,

And gee, how they swing.

It’s the things I do that gives me the gol darn blues – I’m black and blue

Patter –

First I breathe 1, 2

Then I bend, 3

Then I twirl on my toe

And that’s where I score.

Turn a summersault.

Then jump on a horse,

If I don’t break my neck

Then it isn’t my fault.

I shimmy up the ropes,

I travel on the rings; I do all sorts of stunts on those BOOMY things,

I hang by my feet till my brains run loose

And now I’ve got the ap-ap-apparatus blues

Chorus –

Well, this is an example of what you could do when you successfully finish one year at University. There is still a little bit of time left until you will graduate, but I would like you to think about the ways you would like to celebrate graduation and the way you are thinking of celebrating this year that is about to pass.

Filed under: 4►LIFE, ■ Good Old Student Life, ■ Graduation

5 Responses

  1. Alina Alens says:

    Some may think about starting writing their resume.
    Here’s a link to a site that may offer you some tips on resume writing: New Grad Life.

    The year I graduated they were showing “Amelie” in the cinemas in Cluj, my University town, so I called up all my close friends and invited them to a cinematic treat!
    It was a nice Parisian outing. 🙂 You can put on your “walking shoes” and click on http://www.paris-26-gigapixels.com/index-en.html to take a good virtual walk in Paris.
    Paris 26 Gigapixels is a stitching of 2346 single photos showing a very high-resolution panoramic view of the French capital. Enjoy!

  2. Magda Ł says:

    Wow! I’ve spend half an hour ‘visiting’ Paris 😀 I wish to go there some day.

    When I will finally graduate this year I’m planing to travel a lot, study Spanish and be as lazy as possible. About other things, I’ll have to think about them after I actually graduate 😉

    • Alina Alens says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it!
      Good luck with your lazy summer plans and let the English learners know about your travels and your language learning later on, as you make progress (pictures included)! 🙂

      • Magda Ł says:

        I hope I will make progress then 😉 And for sure if there’s only something interesting to share during my journeys – I’ll do it.

  3. Agnieszka Kow. says:

    I don’t know what I will be doing after the exams (probably everything that is immoral :P).
    At the moment I feel depressed that there is still a week left. 😉

Leave a Reply

A big WELCOME to all ELB visitors, from Europe and elsewhere!

Bloguri, Bloggeri si Cititori

Enter your email address

ELBlog Stats ■ THANK YOU for your interest & inspiration!

  • 42,571 visits

Browse by Category

0►TRUST 1►LISTEN▼ 1►TO DO 2►READ 3►SPEAK▼ 3►STYLE 4►LIFE 4►WRITE 5►LEARN MORE FROM: 5►On-line Assignments 6►THEME CHEST 6▼ Questionnaires 7► DIY 7►NET WORKS 8►BUSINESS 9►EXTRA TOPICS▼ ■ About Organisational Cultures ■ African-American History ■ Arts/ Music/ Dance ■ BBC ■ Biology ■ BM Brain Matters ■ Books ■ Brain Matters ■ Brain Plasticity ■ Brain Rules ■ Campuses ■ Celebrations ■ Charity ■ Christmas ■ CNN ■ CNN Money ■ Colour Vocabulary ■ Comics & Doodles ■ Communicate ■ Compassion ■ Conference Speakers ■ Creativity ■ Dream Jobs ■ Empathy ■ EU ■ EurActiv ■ Facebook ■ Food & Travel ■ Forbes ■ Fortune ■ Gabriel Garcia Marquez ■ Geeks ■ Generations ■ Giving ■ GLOBAL ■ Global Issues ■ Good Old Student Life ■ GOOP ■ Graduation ■ Ha, ha, ha! ■ Happiness ■ Harvard Business Review ■ Harvard Law School ■ How to Learn Languages ■ How to Live ■ How to Tell a Story ■ India ■ Inspiration ■ Intelligent Life ■ Kids ■ Leadership ■ Luxury ■ Lyrics ■ Meet my friends ■ Movies ■ Nationalities and Stereotypes ■ News ■ Open Letter ■ Perfumes ■ Photos that Speak ■ Physics ■ Podcasts ■ Poland ■ Polandia ■ Punctuation Marks ■ Races ■ Radio Shows ■ Relation ships ■ Romania ■ Running ■ School ■ Science & Technology ■ Self Development Links ■ Senses ■ Sept. 11 ■ Site Scout ■ Spring Cleaning ■ Stanford University ■ Talks & Conferences ■ Technology & Our Generation ■ TED ■ The Economist ■ The Next Web ■ The Path of Metaphor ■ The Teacher ■ The World ■ They say... & what they mean is... ■ They write... & what they mean is... ■ Thinking Space ■ TIME ■ Tongue Twisters ■ Travel ■ TV & Radio ■ Voice Matters ■ W. E. B. Du Bois ■ Week of Mourning 2010 ■ Writing Samples ■ YouTube ►10.IN PRINT▼ ►11.ON LINE▼ ►12.OFF THE MAP▼ ►13.WHAT DO THEY MEAN?▼ ►META PHORS▼
