The English Learners' Blog

A blog for English learners and their teachers everywhere, initiated in 2010 with the contribution of students from the Jagiellonian University in Krakow, Poland. More about me on the On-line Profile below. Welcome!

Kids can do it, so can we!

Have you ever found yourself in front of a sceptical audience

and wanted to prove yourself?

Adora Svitak

is happy to take on such challenges on a regular basis,

having shared her thoughts with others for over 5 years, even though she’s only 12.

“Actually it’s a good challenge. I like to really prove myself – it makes me feel like I’m really a professional, and I feel like I’m not only proving it to them, but also to myself.”

Can we learn from kids, or are we afraid of being called childish?


Extra

Adora Svistak was asked: where do you find the time?

She answered: “I have more time than the average elementary school student, as the home school class sessions take place in the afternoon, and there are only two hours of class time. I have the morning and evening to do what I please”

Food for Thought:

Slow or fast?

When it comes to contemporary lifestyle,

slow is usually defined in a negative way.

Does this make being  fast (in talking, eating, performing and other activities)

positive?

Is home schooling slow or fast?

What lifestyle does it belong to?

How about your lifestyle? Do you like to take it slow?

When and why is this preferable?

Shre your thoughts with  the world! 


Filed under: ■ Kids

15 Responses

  1. Alina Alens says:

    I just stumbled upon Jamie Stokes’ article Perspectives on Poland: A Slow Summer
    Even though it’s dated September 3rd, 2009, it still makes a great reading, especially in connection with the various meanings and collocations of “slow,” like “Slow news awards” or “Slowies.”

    Keeping it slow and summer-ish, 😉

    Yours,
    doubleA

  2. Adela.. says:

    If death meant just leaving the stage long enough to change costume and come back as a new character…
    Would you slow down? Or speed up?

  3. Emanuel Koneval says:

    What a great site and informative posts, I will bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

  4. Alina Alens says:

    More on limits & overcoming them on Seth Godin’s blog.

  5. atma says:

    Howard is a little one we can all learn from. his talent and love of what he is doing is an example of focus and a carefree mind, these are the tools of greatness. to deeply grasp one’s potential takes time, but to make the decision to go for it…any ‘it’…takes only a millisecond…enjoy

  6. Alina Alens says:

    !!!!EXTRA!!!!
    Check out these lyrics to Mississippi Goddam!
    by Nina Simone
    (1963)

    Mississippi Goddam (Nina Simone)
    The name of this tune is Mississippi Goddam
    And I mean every word of it

    Alabama’s gotten me so upset
    Tennessee made me lose my rest
    And everybody knows about Mississippi Goddam

    Alabama’s gotten me so upset
    Tennessee made me lose my rest
    And everybody knows about Mississippi Goddam

    Can’t you see it
    Can’t you feel it
    It’s all in the air
    I can’t stand the pressure much longer
    Somebody say a prayer

    Alabama’s gotten me so upset
    Tennessee made me lose my rest
    And everybody knows about Mississippi Goddam

    This is a show tune
    But the show hasn’t been written for it, yet

    Hound dogs on my trail
    School children sitting in jail
    Black cat cross my path
    I think every day’s gonna be my last

    Lord have mercy on this land of mine
    We all gonna get it in due time
    I don’t belong here
    I don’t belong there
    I’ve even stopped believing in prayer

    Don’t tell me
    I tell you
    Me and my people just about due
    I’ve been there so I know
    They keep on saying “Go slow!”

    But that’s just the trouble
    “do it slow”
    Washing the windows
    “do it slow”
    Picking the cotton
    “do it slow”
    You’re just plain rotten
    “do it slow”
    You’re too damn lazy
    “do it slow”
    The thinking’s crazy
    “do it slow”
    Where am I going
    What am I doing
    I don’t know
    I don’t know

    Just try to do your very best
    Stand up be counted with all the rest
    For everybody knows about Mississippi Goddam

    I made you thought I was kiddin’

    Picket lines
    School boy cots
    They try to say it’s a communist plot
    All I want is equality
    for my sister my brother my people and me

    Yes you lied to me all these years
    You told me to wash and clean my ears
    And talk real fine just like a lady
    And you’d stop calling me Sister Sadie

    Oh but this whole country is full of lies
    You’re all gonna die and die like flies
    I don’t trust you any more
    You keep on saying “Go slow!”
    “Go slow!”

    But that’s just the trouble
    “do it slow”
    Desegregation
    “do it slow”
    Mass participation
    “do it slow”
    Reunification
    “do it slow”
    Do things gradually
    “do it slow”
    But bring more tragedy
    “do it slow”
    Why don’t you see it
    Why don’t you feel it
    I don’t know
    I don’t know

    You don’t have to live next to me
    Just give me my equality
    Everybody knows about Mississippi
    Everybody knows about Alabama
    Everybody knows about Mississippi Goddam

    That’s it!

    Eunice Kathleen Waymon (February 21, 1933 – April 21, 2003), better known by her stage name Nina Simone, was an American singer, songwriter, pianist, arranger, and civil rights activist. Although she disliked being categorized, Simone is arguably most associated with her performance of jazz music. Simone originally aspired to become a classical pianist, but her work covers an eclectic variety of musical styles that include classical music, jazz, the blues, soul, folk, R&B, gospel, and pop music. Her vocal style is characterized by intense passion, a loose vibrato, and a slightly androgynous timbre, in part due to her unusually low vocal range which veered between the alto and tenor ranges (occasionally even reaching baritone lows). Also known as The High Priestess of Soul, she paid great attention to the musical expression of emotions. Within one album or concert she could fluctuate between exuberant happiness and tragic melancholy.

    Nina Simone recorded over 40 live and studio albums, the greatest body of her work being released between 1958 (when she made her debut with Little Girl Blue and 1974. Songs she is best known for include “My Baby Just Cares for Me”, “I Put a Spell on You”, “Four Women”, “I Loves You Porgy”, “Feeling Good”, “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood”, “Sinnerman”, “To Be Young, Gifted and Black”, “Mississippi Goddam”, “Ain’t Got No, I Got Life” and “I Want a Little Sugar in My Bowl”. Many of her songs are featured on motion picture soundtracks, as well as in video games, commercials and TV series.

  7. Aga P. says:

    Slow or fast? Slow. Positive or negative? For me very, very positive. In the rushed world being slow in some areas of life is a good alternative; it makes you feel happy and relaxed. But on the other hand isn’t this slow lifestyle just another new trend, that makes you original among all the other “being-the-same” people? An interesting question… I have to think about it and maybe write a little more;)

    • Alina Alens says:

      We’ll be waiting 😀
      Take it slow!

    • Aga P. says:

      First, I think I feel better when I can do things in a “slow way.” I do not have to rush, I am not stressed, I can focus on the things that I’m doing and I can do that well. But, on the other hand, when I try doing everything slow and accurately, I do not have time for all my other duties. Consequently, I am forced to do things in a hurry, even if I would have liked to take it slow… and so on…
      Doing things slow and living in a slow way paradoxically makes me stressed. Nowadays, when everybody is busy, the slow way of life seems to be a good solution for people of retirement age.
      However, in some aspects of life it is really good to try to slow down, even for a while, and contemplate the moment – because every day can be special 🙂

      For those, who are interested in the philosophy of Slow Movement – here’s very nice website: http://www.slowmovement.com/

  8. Agnieszka Kow. says:

    Slow or fast? Hmmm… When I decide to do something (when I’m in charge) I like to take things slow, have a lazy morning with good coffee, a tasty breakfast, for example, etc. On the other hand I’m very impatient; I hate waiting in the restaurant, at the bus stop, standing in queues – I rarely enjoy such moments.
    It is sometimes good to be “fast” and gather precious minutes, because we can use them later when we want to slow down.

  9. Łukasz G. says:

    Woooow! Now I reeeaaalllyyy want to be a kid once again:) Adora Svitak is right about the adult fears – loosing control and so on. We could definitely learn something from children – even if it may be small, it’s worth trying.
    I like being called childish 😉

Leave a Reply

A big WELCOME to all ELB visitors, from Europe and elsewhere!

Bloguri, Bloggeri si Cititori

Enter your email address

ELBlog Stats ■ THANK YOU for your interest & inspiration!

  • 42,571 visits

Browse by Category

0►TRUST 1►LISTEN▼ 1►TO DO 2►READ 3►SPEAK▼ 3►STYLE 4►LIFE 4►WRITE 5►LEARN MORE FROM: 5►On-line Assignments 6►THEME CHEST 6▼ Questionnaires 7► DIY 7►NET WORKS 8►BUSINESS 9►EXTRA TOPICS▼ ■ About Organisational Cultures ■ African-American History ■ Arts/ Music/ Dance ■ BBC ■ Biology ■ BM Brain Matters ■ Books ■ Brain Matters ■ Brain Plasticity ■ Brain Rules ■ Campuses ■ Celebrations ■ Charity ■ Christmas ■ CNN ■ CNN Money ■ Colour Vocabulary ■ Comics & Doodles ■ Communicate ■ Compassion ■ Conference Speakers ■ Creativity ■ Dream Jobs ■ Empathy ■ EU ■ EurActiv ■ Facebook ■ Food & Travel ■ Forbes ■ Fortune ■ Gabriel Garcia Marquez ■ Geeks ■ Generations ■ Giving ■ GLOBAL ■ Global Issues ■ Good Old Student Life ■ GOOP ■ Graduation ■ Ha, ha, ha! ■ Happiness ■ Harvard Business Review ■ Harvard Law School ■ How to Learn Languages ■ How to Live ■ How to Tell a Story ■ India ■ Inspiration ■ Intelligent Life ■ Kids ■ Leadership ■ Luxury ■ Lyrics ■ Meet my friends ■ Movies ■ Nationalities and Stereotypes ■ News ■ Open Letter ■ Perfumes ■ Photos that Speak ■ Physics ■ Podcasts ■ Poland ■ Polandia ■ Punctuation Marks ■ Races ■ Radio Shows ■ Relation ships ■ Romania ■ Running ■ School ■ Science & Technology ■ Self Development Links ■ Senses ■ Sept. 11 ■ Site Scout ■ Spring Cleaning ■ Stanford University ■ Talks & Conferences ■ Technology & Our Generation ■ TED ■ The Economist ■ The Next Web ■ The Path of Metaphor ■ The Teacher ■ The World ■ They say... & what they mean is... ■ They write... & what they mean is... ■ Thinking Space ■ TIME ■ Tongue Twisters ■ Travel ■ TV & Radio ■ Voice Matters ■ W. E. B. Du Bois ■ Week of Mourning 2010 ■ Writing Samples ■ YouTube ►10.IN PRINT▼ ►11.ON LINE▼ ►12.OFF THE MAP▼ ►13.WHAT DO THEY MEAN?▼ ►META PHORS▼
